Home > Uncategorized > TAMASO MA JYOTHIRGAMAYA

TAMASO MA JYOTHIRGAMAYA

The world is so beautiful. I mean lets forget the pollution for a second. But there are still beauties. I am grateful to God, that he has provided me with the eyes to see all those that I love. This Saturday when my dearest friend called me up and asked to accompany her to NAB – The National Association For The Blind. I was pondering on what to reply. My mind wandered leaps and bounds. She had told me that it was something to do with On Demand Community that our company IBM was organizing. Where each employee had to do some volunteering work. I tried to see within me whether there was any social welfare person hiding there. I do respond and react to the social inequalities in a way that gives me self satisfaction. But never in my life have I taken a step to actually be a part of understanding some social issue. Anyways, my friend has always been a weakness of mine. So I agreed to accompany her.

I came to know a lot of things there. The 20 loses a blind person has to suffer :-

1. Basic Losses to psychological Security.

* 1. Loss of Physical integrity
* 2. Loss of confidence in the remaining senses.
* 3. Loss of reality contact with environment
* 4. Loss of visual background
* 5. Loss of light security.

11. Losses in basic skills.

* 6. Loss of mobility
* 7. Loss of techniques of daily living.

111. Losses in communication.

* 8. Loss of ease of written communication.
* 9. Loss of ease of spoken communication.
* 10. Loss of informational progress.

1V. Losses of appreciation.

* 11. Loss of the visual perception of the pleasurable.
* 12. Loss of the visual perception of the beautiful

V. Losses concerning occupation and financial status.

* 13. Loss of recreation.
* 14. Loss of career, vocational goal, job opportunity.
* 15. Loss of financial security.

1V. Resulting losses of the whole personality.

* 16. Loss of personal independence.
* 17. Loss of social adequacy.
* 18. Loss of obscurity.
* 19. Loss of self-esteem.
* 20. Loss of total personality organizations.

The experience of being blindfolded and somebody to guide you was simply an enlightening. Being blind for 20 minutes made me so uncomfortable and angry. Imagine what those who are really blind might be going through. No handicap needs compassion, they need companionship. They need to know that even the sighted world is meant for them. I can write a lot but unable to. Maybe because its my first post. Maybe because I can’t describe the experience in its true essence. I may update this later.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. March 23, 2008 at 8:50 am

    I just stopped by your blog and thought I would say hello. I like your site design. Looking forward to reading more down the road.

    Robert Michel

  2. March 24, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    Hiya Buddy! I Hope all your future posts lead us from darkness to light πŸ™‚ Happy blogging!

  3. Rahul
    March 25, 2008 at 9:00 am

    Yeah! Buddy …A great way to spread our views…

  4. sangeethakadavill
    March 28, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    reallly really nice..gave me a lot of insight into the lives of the blind…and im glad u wote it..:)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

